Annual BRAVE awards dinner

Since 2016, BRAVE has partnered with Southern Guild to host an annual Awards dinner and fundraiser to celebrate women (and men) who have dedicated their lives to creating girl leaders.  The event is the highlight for the girls who we support.   South African artists create bespoke BRAVE pieces of art, sculpture, jewellery and furniture for the annual auction.   Artists who have participated in the past include Lionel Smit, Justine Mahoney, Laurie van Heerden, Lovell Friedman, Conrad Hicks, Kirsten Goss, Missibabi, Kat van Duinen, Kurt Pio, Porky Hefer, and many others.  As well, special holiday getaways, safaris, and adventures have been donated by Singita, Perfect Hideaways, Wilderness Safaris, Ellerman House, and the One & Only.  It is a fabulous night to hear stories from some of our girl leaders and raise awareness and funds for BRAVE.

BRAVE Award Winners 2016

Mary Burton, author and activist

Lovell Friedman, artist

Phumzile Ngcuka-Mlambo, UN Women

Zanele Maholi and Lindeka Qampi, photographers

Nolene Conrad, athlete

Red River Primary Teachers, unsung heroes

Ferlin du Preez, Rock Girl founder

BRAVE winners 2017:

BRAVE Unsung Hero: Sidney and Cheryl Hendricks

BRAVE artist/designer: Laurie van Heerden

BRAVE Young Achiever: Founding Rock Girls

BRAVE logo